Cleaning & Safety
Top 5 Workplace First Aid Kits by Hazard Level
Choosing a workplace first-aid kit is less about buying the biggest box and more about matching its supplies, storage format, and replenishment plan to the risks at your site. A compact case may suit a small, lower-hazard office, while a fixed cabinet or broader Class B supply mix may be a better fit for other workplaces.
This shortlist compares five options by their listed ANSI class, container, supply mix, stated people capacity, and refill availability. The capacities are product listings, not a substitute for assessing your workplace’s hazards, layout, and employee coverage.
OSHA requires first-aid supplies to be readily available; where employees may be exposed to injurious corrosive materials, suitable immediate-use flushing facilities are also required. A kit cannot replace that equipment.

Quick picks
For a small, lower-hazard workplace, the Uline H-6469 is a compact Class A metal case listed for 25 people, with 77 items and refills available. Its mounting hardware is not included.
If your site assessment calls for Class B supplies, the Uline H-6470 is a metal case listed for 50 people, with 217 items including a tourniquet, splint, and triangular bandages. Refills are available, but mounting hardware is not included.
For a centralized supply station, Aero’s Surefill SF150BMT is a four-shelf Class B cabinet with 857 listed items and a complete refill pack. It is not portable, and Aero does not state a people capacity on the product page.
For a larger kit with additional supplies, Uline’s H-8757 is listed for 100 people and includes Class B supplies, a Bloodborne Pathogen Kit, and extra medicinals. “Class B+” is Uline’s label, not a separate ANSI class.
For a larger workplace needing a substantial supply fill, the Uline H-9997 is listed for 250 people and 893 items, including a Bloodborne Pathogen Kit and extra medicinals. Its “Class B+” label is also Uline’s wording; check whether its large case suits your storage plan.
Product shortlist
1. Uline ANSI Approved First Aid Kit — Class A, 25 Person H-6469
Uline ANSI Approved First Aid Kit — Class A, 25 Person H-6469For a smaller workplace with lower-hazard needs, this compact Class A kit is a straightforward option to consider. I like that it pairs a metal case with a listed 77-item supply set and refill availability, though the 25-person rating alone cannot tell you whether the contents match your site’s specific risks.
What I like
- The metal case measures about 9 × 6 × 3 inches, making it a compact format for a designated storage spot.
- The 77 listed items include bandages, antiseptic wipes, burn cream, a CPR protector, and eye pads.
- Uline lists refills, which can make replenishing supplies simpler than replacing the whole kit.
Limitations
- Mounting hardware is not included, so plan separately if you want to attach the case to a wall.
- The case is waterproof only when sealed, and Uline lists a 12-month shelf life; check supplies regularly and replace anything used or expired.
My take
Uline identifies H-6469 as a 25-person Class A kit meeting ANSI Z308.1-2021. That makes it a reasonable starting point for a lower-hazard workplace, but I would compare the listed contents with your actual site risks rather than treating the person rating as a complete safety assessment.
The refill listing is useful for ongoing upkeep, while the compact metal case suits buyers who prefer a fixed, enclosed storage format. Choose another option if your workplace needs a different supply mix, a larger capacity, or included mounting hardware.
Best for
Small, lower-hazard workplaces looking for a compact Class A kit for up to 25 people and a listed refill option.
Sources: Uline ANSI Approved First Aid Kit — Class A, 25 Person H-6469.
2. Uline ANSI Approved First Aid Kit — Class B, 50 Person H-6470
Uline ANSI Approved First Aid Kit — Class B, 50 Person H-6470For a workplace whose hazard assessment points to a Class B kit, Uline’s H-6470 offers a broader supply range than a basic Class A option. It is listed for 50 people and comes in a metal case, making it a practical candidate for a fixed first-aid station where staff can check and replenish supplies.
What I like
- Its 217 listed items include a tourniquet, splint, triangular bandages, and nitrile gloves alongside Class A contents.
- The metal case measures about 13½ × 9 × 3 inches, giving buyers a clear starting point for planning cabinet space.
- Uline offers refills and lists a 12-month shelf life, which can help with replenishment planning.
Limitations
- Mounting hardware is not included, so a wall-mounted setup requires a separate plan.
- The 50-person designation does not establish that one kit is sufficient for every workplace of that size; site risks and usage matter.
- The listing does not specify a use-based restocking interval, so someone still needs to inspect supplies and replace used or expired items.
My take
I’d consider this kit when a workplace assessment calls for Class B supplies and a metal case suits the storage location. The added tourniquet, splint, and bandages distinguish it from a simpler kit, but the contents should be checked against the site’s actual hazards rather than treated as a substitute for that assessment.
The case is waterproof when sealed, according to Uline, but the listing does not establish protection when open or specify a restocking schedule. Plan for routine checks, and confirm whether the kit’s listed capacity and contents fit the number of workers, layout, and likely first-aid needs at your site.
Best for
A workplace seeking a Class B kit for a listed capacity of 50 people, especially where a sturdy metal case and refill availability suit its storage and replenishment plans. Look elsewhere if the site needs a different supply mix or a kit sized to a separately assessed risk profile.
Sources: Uline ANSI Approved First Aid Kit — Class B, 50 Person H-6470.
3. Surefill 4 Shelf Metal Cabinet 150 Series Class B (w/ Meds) SF150BMT
Surefill 4 Shelf Metal Cabinet 150 Series Class B (w/ Meds) SF150BMTFor a workplace that needs a fixed, well-stocked first-aid point, the Surefill SF150BMT is a substantial Class B cabinet rather than a grab-and-go kit. I like its combination of a metal wall cabinet, a broad listed supply mix, and a compatible refill pack, which can make routine replenishment more straightforward.
Aero describes it for medium American workplaces, but the product page does not specify how many people it serves.
What I like
- The four-shelf metal cabinet gives supplies a designated, centralized home.
- Its 857-item fill includes wound-care supplies, eight pairs of nitrile gloves, two tourniquets, a splint, and eyewash.
- Aero lists a complete 150 Series refill, giving buyers a named option for replenishment.
Limitations
- At 15.5 × 5.5 × 22.5 inches, this is a wall cabinet, not a portable kit for moving between work areas.
- The product page does not state a recommended number of people served, so confirm the supply mix against your headcount and workplace hazards.
- Aero directs buyers to resellers for pricing, so the listed product-page price may not be the final purchasing cost.
My take
I’d consider this cabinet when a workplace wants a substantial Class B supply station and has a suitable place to mount it. The documented mix goes beyond basic wound care, with items such as tourniquets, a splint, and eyewash; match those supplies to your site’s actual risks and response procedures.
Best for
A small business looking for a fixed Class B cabinet with a listed refill option, especially when centralized storage matters more than portability. Check the contents and intended coverage with the supplier before choosing it for a specific headcount or hazard profile.
Sources: Surefill 4 Shelf Metal Cabinet 150 Series Class B (w/ Meds) #SF150BMT.
4. Uline ANSI Approved First Aid Kit — Class B+, 100 Person H-8757
Uline ANSI Approved First Aid Kit — Class B+, 100 Person H-8757The Uline H-8757 is a large metal-cased kit for workplaces whose risk assessment calls for Class B supplies and more than a basic first-aid selection. Uline lists it for 100 people, with 642 items, extra medicinals, and a Bloodborne Pathogen Kit.
I like that the added contents are clearly identified, but the “Class B+” label is Uline’s wording rather than a separate formal ANSI class.
What I like
- The listed 100-person capacity and Class B contents make it a candidate for larger or higher-risk sites when the workplace assessment supports that choice.
- The included Bloodborne Pathogen Kit and extra medicinals distinguish it from a standard Class B kit.
- Uline offers refills, and the metal case gives buyers a defined container for planning storage.
Limitations
- At approximately 15½ × 16½ × 5½ inches, the case needs a dedicated storage spot; mounting hardware is not included.
- The listed shelf life is 12 months, so buyers should plan to check dates and replenish supplies; the product page does not prescribe an inspection schedule.
- Uline lists a single-unit price of $295, which may be more than a smaller workplace needs.
My take
I’d consider this option when a site assessment points to Class B supplies, the listed 100-person capacity suits the workplace, and the added bloodborne-pathogen supplies are useful. The larger case and refill availability also make it easier to plan a centralized supply point, provided there is room to store it.
Best for
Workplaces needing a larger Class B kit with extra medicinals and a Bloodborne Pathogen Kit. Choose a smaller or simpler kit if your assessed needs do not justify the capacity or added contents.
Sources: Uline ANSI Approved First Aid Kit — Class B+, 100 Person H-8757.
5. Uline ANSI Approved First Aid Kit — Class B+, 250 Person H-9997
Uline ANSI Approved First Aid Kit — Class B+, 250 Person H-9997For a larger workplace, the Uline H-9997 is the highest-capacity option in this shortlist, with supplies listed for up to 250 people. Its metal case holds 893 items, including Class B supplies, a Bloodborne Pathogen Kit, extra medicinals and a tourniquet.
I like that Uline lists refills, but the substantial case and 12-month stated shelf life make storage and regular stock checks part of the decision.
What I like
- The listed 250-person capacity and Class B contents make it a more substantial option for a larger site than a small office kit.
- The contents include a Bloodborne Pathogen Kit and tourniquet, which distinguish it from a basic first-aid assortment.
- Uline lists refills, giving buyers a route to replenish supplies rather than replace the entire kit.
Limitations
- The metal case is large, at approximately 22 × 15 × 6 inches, so plan a suitable storage location.
- Mounting hardware is not included, according to Uline.
- Uline labels it “Class B+”; that is the seller’s designation, not a separate ANSI class. Its listed shelf life is 12 months, so check supplies and plan restocking.
My take
The H-9997 is worth considering when a smaller kit’s listed capacity or contents would not suit your workplace. Its 893 listed items and added bloodborne-pathogen supplies offer a broader stock, though the right choice still depends on your actual hazards, layout and employee coverage.
I would confirm where the case will be stored and who will monitor its supplies. Uline says the kit meets ANSI Z308.1-2021 and lists refills, but one kit should not be assumed adequate for every 250-person site.
Best for
A larger workplace seeking a substantial Class B-type kit with bloodborne-pathogen supplies and a listed capacity of 250 people. Consider another option if you need a smaller case or mounting hardware included.
Sources: Uline ANSI Approved First Aid Kit — Class B+, 250 Person H-9997.
How to choose
Choose a kit by your workplace’s hazards first, then consider headcount, where supplies will be stored, and how you’ll replenish them. OSHA requires readily available first-aid supplies; a kit does not replace required flushing facilities where corrosive exposure is possible.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
Don’t treat a kit’s people rating as proof it suits your site, or assume a “Class B+” label is a separate ANSI class. Check the actual supply list and whether the case fits your storage plan.
Frequently Asked Questions
How often should I restock? Replace used or expired items and check the kit regularly; OSHA does not set a general restocking interval.
Final Verdict — Which One Would I Choose?
I’d choose the class and supply mix that match the site assessment, then prioritize accessible storage and straightforward refills.
Sources: 29 CFR 1910.151 — Medical services and first aid; Uline ANSI Approved First Aid Kit — Class A, 25 Person H-6469; Uline ANSI Approved First Aid Kit — Class B, 50 Person H-6470; Surefill 4 Shelf Metal Cabinet 150 Series Class B (w/ Meds) #SF150BMT; Uline ANSI Approved First Aid Kit — Class B+, 100 Person H-8757; Uline ANSI Approved First Aid Kit — Class B+, 250 Person H-9997.
Which option fits?
I’d start with your workplace’s hazard assessment, then use headcount, site layout, and storage location to narrow the choice. The H-6469 is a reasonable compact Class A candidate for a lower-hazard setting; consider a Class B case or fixed cabinet when the assessment calls for that broader supply mix.
For larger listed capacities, compare the H-8757 and H-9997 by their added contents and the space their cases require.
Before buying, check the full supply list against your site’s risks and decide who will inspect the kit and replace used or expired items. OSHA’s general-industry rule does not set a universal restocking interval, so don’t assume a listed shelf life is an inspection schedule.
Confirm that supplies are readily available, and make separate arrangements for any required emergency flushing facilities.